ISO-8859-1 – Latin 1
Western Europe and Americas: Afrikaans, Basque, Catalan, Danish, Dutch, English, Faeroese, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Icelandic, Irish, Italian, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish.
ISO-8859-2 Latin 2
Latin-written Slavic and Central European languages: Czech, German, Hungarian, Polish, Romanian, Croatian, Slovak, Slovene.
ISO-8859-3 – Latin 3
Esperanto, Galician, Maltese, and Turkish.
ISO-8859-4 – Latin 4
Scandinavia/Baltic (mostly covered by 8859-1 also): Estonian, Latvian, and Lithuanian. It is an incomplete predecessor of Latin 6.
ISO-8859-5 – Cyrillic
Bulgarian, Byelorussian, Macedonian, Russian, Serbian and Ukrainian.
ISO-8859-6 – Arabic
Non-accented Arabic.
ISO-8859-7- Modern Greek
ISO-8859-8 – Hebrew
Non-accented Hebrew.
ISO-8859-9 – Latin 5
Same as 8859-1 except for Turkish instead of Icelandic
ISO-8859-10 – Latin 6
Latin6, for Lappish/Nordic/Eskimo languages: Adds the last Inuit (Greenlandic) and Sami (Lappish) letters that were missing in Latin 4 to cover the entire Nordic area.


By admin